The Main Administration Building was completed in 1941 under the leadership of Mr. George C. Turner, Principal, Makerere College (1939-46). Earlier in 1938, the Duke of Gloucester, representing His Majesty King George VI had cut the first sod for the construction of the building on 3rd November.The Main Building with its unique 20th century British architecture is easily Makerere's most recognisable symbol and was constructed with funds from the Colonial Development bourse. The building's construction was greatly delayed by a scarcity of resources to purchase materials as Britain and her allies grappled with the expenses of World War II. As a result, some of the carpentry work had to be done on-site at the Technical College.The Principal then focused on turning Makerere into a University College and establishing buildings. As a result both the St. Francis and St. Augustine Chapels were completed in the same year 1941 and by 1944, plans for the establishment of a School of Civil Engineering at Makerere were already being discussed by the British House of Commons .
 British Hansard, HC Deb 18 October 1944 vol 403 c2360
Copyrighted Images courtesy of Makerere University Library
Copyright © 2013 - Makerere University | Makerere Home | Mak News | Mak Events